\n\n

For days it has been the “Explosive Diarrhea” outbreak. Today, a new phrase slid into the lexicon – “Poopy Pants Parasite.” Neither is pleasant.

The CDC moved this morning and the FDA moved this afternoon, and for the first time in a week the two agencies are publishing the same numbers: 1,947 people, nine states, 98 hospitalizations, no deaths. Illinois, Kansas, Oklahoma and Pennsylvania have joined Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio and West Virginia. The four additions were reported first by the Washington Post at five o’clock this morning, hours ahead of either agency.

The FDA did not update its advisory. It built a new one at a new address, titled a nine-state outbreak. The old five-state page is still live, still carrying 1,644 cases and 94 hospitalizations, and the new page opens with a banner telling readers that an update is available — linked back to the old page.

The outbreak also got shorter. Both agencies now say illnesses began on June 22 and ran through July 20. Until today both said May 13 through July 13. You can watch it happen on a single FDA page: the current update reads June 22, and the preserved July 16 entry three screens below it still reads May 13. Roughly six weeks of illnesses were inside the outbreak definition yesterday and are outside it today. The FDA attributes the rise in cases in part to the four new states, and repeats that it can take as long as six weeks to determine whether a sick person belongs to this outbreak.

The distribution list grew from twenty-seven states to twenty-eight. The state added is West Virginia — which has been one of the named outbreak states since July 16, and which spent the week since then absent from the list of places the recalled lettuce was sent. That gap is now closed.

The FDA also broke retail out from foodservice for the first time. Recalled Marketside product went to Walmart stores in fifteen states: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, Mississippi, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia. Michigan and Ohio, which between them account for more than ten thousand of this year’s cases, are not on the retail list. And under a new heading the agency discloses that the recall reaches outside the United States, and that the firm’s own customer records show recalled product was sold to consumers in Mexico — the day after Mexico’s health ministry announced that its samples from the plant were negative.

On the retracted border sample, the FDA is now unusually blunt: the false positive, it says in capital letters, does not change the basis for its investigation or the epidemiological data supporting the recall, and traceback and outbreak data continue to converge on shredded iceberg lettuce from central Mexican growers.

Michigan reported 8,176 cases today, up 512 in a day, with 160 hospitalized as of yesterday and cases in 70 of its 82 counties. Ohio’s statewide count, stuck at 1,316 since July 16, has moved to 2,596. Illinois is at 408 with 31 hospitalized, Kansas at 289, Oklahoma at 172. Add up what all fifty states publish about themselves and you get roughly 14,800 people. The official outbreak number is 1,947. CNN counted more than 12,000 in the nine outbreak states alone.

Below is where each state stands tonight, with the source for every number. The nine states now in the outbreak are shaded.

State 2026 cases reported Part of the Taco Bell outbreak? Source
Alabama No 2026 count published Not reported as part of the outbreak CDC
Alaska 5; 3 travel-related No – AK DOH: no link to the outbreak AK DOH / Epoch
Arizona 19 Cases reported; not in cluster AZ DHS / Epoch
Arkansas 26 year-to-date Under investigation for outbreak link AR DOH / Epoch
California 41 provisional (Jul 14) No – CDPH: no local acquisition identified CDPH
Colorado 150; 4 hospitalized; 8 of 120 domestic No – CDPHE: not part of the Midwest outbreak CDPHE / Epoch
Connecticut 35 (up from 19 in 2025) Links its cases to the national outbreak CT DPH
Delaware No 2026 count published Not reported as part of the outbreak CDC
Florida 106 No – FL DOH: seasonal disease Florida sees yearly FL DOH / Epoch
Georgia 11–30 domestic since May 1 No – GA DPH: no Georgia-specific cluster GA DPH / Epoch
Hawaii No 2026 count published Not reported as part of the outbreak CDC
Idaho No 2026 count published Not reported as part of the outbreak CDC
Illinois 408 confirmed and probable (Jul 21), up from 215 a week earlier; 215 domestic, 145 travel, 48 unknown; 31 hospitalized YES – added to the outbreak Jul 24; IDPH had said no single source was identified IDPH / CBS Chicago
Indiana 684 (Jul 23), up from 327 on Jul 16; ages 8–98; Allen Co. 109 YES – Taco Bell outbreak state; daily updates IN DOH / WISH-TV
Iowa 57; about half domestic No – IA HHS: not connected to national investigations IA HHS / Epoch
Kansas 289 (Jul 22), up from 55 on Jul 15; 12 hospitalized; more than 30% in Johnson County YES – added Jul 24, but KDHE linked its own cases to the national outbreak on Jul 22 KDHE
Kentucky 192 (Jul 15); 108 confirmed; 7 hospitalized YES – Taco Bell outbreak state; weekly updates KY DPH / Epoch
Louisiana 1–10 Not declared part; not in cluster LA DOH / Epoch
Maine No 2026 count published Not reported as part of the outbreak CDC
Maryland 69; some travel-related No – no common link identified MD DOH / Epoch
Massachusetts 18 (normal seasonal amount) No – MA DPH: not affected by the Midwest outbreak MA DPH / Epoch
Michigan 8,176 (Jul 24), up 512 in a day; 160 hospitalized (Jul 23), up from 102 a week earlier; cases in 70 of 82 counties YES – leads the outbreak; daily updates on weekdays MDHHS / ClickOnDetroit
Minnesota 41 since May 1 No – MDH: no increase over expected MDH / Epoch
Mississippi No 2026 count published Not reported as part of the outbreak CDC
Missouri 216 (Jul 19), up from 43 on Jul 12; state normally sees about a dozen a year Not declared part of the Taco Bell cluster MO DHSS / KBIA
Montana No 2026 count published Not reported as part of the outbreak CDC
Nebraska 49 No – NE DHHS: none related to the wider outbreak NE DHHS / Epoch
Nevada No 2026 count published Not reported as part of the outbreak CDC
New Hampshire 1–10 Cases reported; not in cluster NH DHHS / Epoch
New Jersey 46 (May 1–Jul 11); within typical range No – NJDOH: no clusters or outbreaks NJDOH
New Mexico No 2026 count published Not reported as part of the outbreak CDC
New York 632 since May, up from 517 on Jul 13; includes NYC No – NYSDOH: not a major deviation from the norm NYSDOH / NBC News
North Carolina 561 (Jul 21), up from 307 on Jul 14; 13 hospitalized; Wake Co. 366 Statewide outbreak; NCDHHS says likely multiple sources, not the Taco Bell cluster NCDHHS / WRAL
North Dakota No 2026 count published Not reported as part of the outbreak CDC
Ohio 2,596 statewide (Jul 24), up from 1,316 on Jul 16; Northwest Ohio alone reported 2,268 on Jul 22, with 1,044 in Lucas County YES – Taco Bell outbreak state; CDC has sent field staff for about three weeks ODH / NBC News
Oklahoma 172 (Jul 21) – 170 confirmed and 2 probable, up from 57; 12 hospitalized YES – added Jul 24, but OSDH had already tied cases to Taco Bell OSDH / News 9
Oregon No 2026 count published Not reported as part of the outbreak CDC
Pennsylvania 28 (Jul 16); cyclosporiasis is not a reportable condition in Pennsylvania and reporting is voluntary YES – added Jul 24; PA DOH had described its cases as mostly travel-related PA DOH / Epoch
Rhode Island 4 since May 1 Cases reported; not in cluster RI DOH / Epoch
South Carolina No 2026 count published Not reported as part of the outbreak CDC
South Dakota No 2026 count published Not reported as part of the outbreak CDC
Tennessee 11–30 Investigating; not in cluster TN DOH / Epoch
Texas 68 (Jul 13); 15 hospitalized; all domestic Meets CDC case definition; no source identified TX DSHS
Utah 1–10 No – UT DHHS: not related to the wider outbreak UT DHHS / Epoch
Vermont No 2026 count published Not reported as part of the outbreak CDC
Virginia 79 (Jul 20), up from 37 on Jul 4; 38 domestic, 27 travel, 14 unknown No – VDH: no evidence of a Virginia outbreak; posts weekly on Mondays VDH
Washington 27 since May 1; 5 domestic or possibly domestic No – WA DOH: not associated with other states WA DOH / Epoch
West Virginia 195 (Jul 21); 15 hospitalized YES – Taco Bell outbreak state; added to FDA’s distribution list Jul 24 after a week off it; updates Tuesdays and Fridays WV Dept. of Health
Wisconsin 61 (May 1–Jul 15); 11 domestic No – WI DHS: no common food item identified WI DHS / Epoch
Wyoming No 2026 count published Not reported as part of the outbreak CDC